Press Release

The Department of Physics, Manipal University Jaipur (MUJ) is organizing a 5-day online Executive Development Programme (EDP) which was inaugurated on Monday. The programme began with Saraswati Vandana. Speaking at the inaugural function, President of the University, Prof. G. K. Prabhu emphasized the important role of a teacher in society. He said that a teacher’s role is not only to deliver knowledge but also to create new knowledge. Talking about the significance of research in higher education, he added that a thesis should not be limited to the library rack, it should be useful for society.

The Chief Guest of the function, Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, Prof. M Jagadesh Kumar, threw light upon the importance and relevance of the topic of the EDP. He said that when we were consuming less energy as a society, a couple of centuries back, we were happier. It was socially rewarding. Today, we consume more energy, but our lives have become more complex and we are slowly becoming a less happy society. The basis for becoming a scientist is to have rational thinking but that will make us self-centred. This is where the academicians have to re-look, he added.

During his address, he also emphasised on becoming a more fulfilling and cooperative society. This is possible by revisiting the courses and education structure. Speaking on the role of a teacher he said that, the primary goal of a teacher should be to create an ecosystem that enables students to become great creators and innovators which will eventually lead to a happy society. He also quoted the learning methods suggested by Shankaracharya; Pathanam (Reading), Mananam (Thinking), Chintanam (Critical analysis), Sankeerthanam (Repetition) and said that this old methodology of teaching-learning is relevant even today.

During the inaugural function, other dignitaries of the University, Pro-President, Prof. N.N. Sharma; Registrar, Prof. H.R. Kamath; Dean, Faculty of Science, Prof. Anoop Mukhopadhyay; Director, School of Basic Sciences, Prof. Lalita Ledwani; Head, Physics Department, Dr. Ashima Bagaria and Conveners, Dr. Rashi Nathawat and Dr. Satyapal Singh Rathore were also present. The vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. Satyapal Singh Rathore.

The EDP will continue till 26 March in which eminent speakers like Prof. L.M. Kukreja, Prof. Satish Vitta, Ms. Mugdha Sinha, Dr. Nilotpal Ghosh, Dr. Nitin S. Kale, Dr. V.M. Katoch, Prof. Y.K. Vijay, Prof. Anil Mehta, Prof. N.D. Mathur and Dr. Nitu Bhatnagar will share their thoughts. On the last day of the EDP, a panel discussion on new education policy will also take place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.