Press Release

The prestigious Annual Award Ceremony ‘Sawai Jaipur Awards 2020’ was streamed live virtually on the MSMS Museum Facebook page and YouTube channel. The ceremony was held on the Commemoration of the Late H.H. Brigadier Maharaja Sawai Bhawani Singh MVC, of Jaipur. This year the Maharaja Sawai Man Singh II Museum Trust gave away awards in as many as 24 categories. The categories had a wide range from service to humankind to preservation of heritage; from medical science to excellence in traditional crafts, among others. The awards consisted of an amount of Rs.31,000, shawl, a replica of the silver urn (Gangajali) placed at the Sarvatobhadra Chowk of the City Palace, citation and a ‘shrifal’.

The virtual programme began with the launch of the book ‘Bubbles’ on Brigadier H.H. Maharaja Sawai Bhawani Singh MVC, of Jaipur. The book was released by Rajmata Sahiba Padmini Devi and Princess Diya Kumari.

On the occasion, Princess Diya Kumari said: “It is a matter joy and pride for me to launch the biography of my father, Maharaja Sawai Bhawani Singh popularly known as ‘Bubbles’. He lived a life full of many experiences and played different roles. He was a diplomat, a polo player, an Army man and the most amazing father anyone can ever have. In 1971, he led the most daring Chacharo raid, a surgical strike in Pakistan, for which he was awarded the Maha Vir Chakra. He worked hard to fulfil the many responsibilities that came with being the Maharaja of Jaipur. He was devoted to the city and its people and played a huge role in promoting Jaipur worldwide. My family and I are grateful to all those who helped bring out this book.”

The awards given on the occasion were Raja Dulha Rai Award for social work (Akshaya Patra Foundation); Raja Kakil Dev Award for Excellence in Preservation of Heritage and Architecture (Dr. Shikha Jain); Raja Pajvan Dev Award for Excellence in the field of Medicine (Dr. Subrata Banerjee); Raja Bhagwant Das Award for Excellence in Traditional Crafts (Mr. Gopal Saini); Raja Mansingh I Award for Bravery (Martyr Colonel Ashutosh Sharma); Mirza Raja Jai Singh I Award for distinguished service in the armed forces (Major Gen. R. S. Shekhawat, SM); Mirza Raja Ram Singh I Award for Excellence in Ecological Balance and Improvement in Environment (Wildlife Institute of India (WII)); Maharaja Vishan Singh Award for Excellence in Travel, Tourism and Museum Development  (Mr. Upendra Singh Shekhawat); Maharaja Sawai Jai Singh II Award for Excellence in the field of Astronomy and related sciences (Pandit Dr. Kedar Sharma); Maharaja Sawai Ishwari Singh Award for Excellence in the field of Journalism (Rashtradoot Newspaper (Arbit)); Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh I Award for Excellence in development and enhancing the image of Rajasthan (Rajasthan Association of North America (RANA)); Maharaja Sawai Pratap Singh Award for Excellence in the field of History, Literature and Education (Mr. Bhanwar Ji Bhanwar); Maharaja Sawai Jagat Singh Award for Excellence in Painting and Sculpture (Mr. Bajrang Suthar); Maharaja Sawai Ram Singh II Award for Excellence in the field of Photography (Mr. Surendra Singh Chauhan) and Maharaja Sawai Madho Singh II Award for Excellence in the field of Theatre, Film & Television (Mr. Pramod Bhasin).
Furthermore, other awards were given in the category of Maharaja Sawai Mansingh II Award for Excellence in the field of Sports (Mr. Anantjeet Singh Naruka); Maharani Marudhar Kanwar Award for distinguished services in MSMS II Museum Trust, JPCT Trust and Shila Mata Trust (Shri Sheodana Ram Kumawat & Shri Rohitashw Singh Tanwar); Maharani Kishore Kanwar Award for excellence in Performing Arts (Pandit Krishna Mohan Bhatt); Rajmata Gayatri Devi Award for Women’s Excellence (Mrs. Laila Tyabji); Maharaja Sawai Bhawani Singh Award for Excellence in the field of Business and Industry (Shree Cement Limited); Rajmata Padmini Devi Award for excellence in loyal & disciplined services to the Royal Family of Jaipur (Mrs. Saraswati, Mrs. Madan Kanwar & Shri Ashok Kumar); Princess Diya Kumari Award for achiever in any field (Mr. Moti Singh Rawat); Maharaja Sawai Padmanabh Singh Award for young achiever in Sports (Ms. Avani Lekhara) and Princess Gauravi Kumari Award for significant start-up, innovation or invention with great social impact (Dr. Sunita Bundas).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.