Press Release

Member of the Railway Standing Committee, MP Diya Kumari has sent a letter to the Union Railway Minister, Shri Piyush Goyal and Union Minister of Road Transport & Highways, Shri Nitin Gadkari demanding concession on train travel and toll-free travel for accredited and non-accredited journalists.

Member of Parliament, Diya Kumari said that the Central and State Governments provide various types of facilities and concessions to the accredited journalists but the Ministry of Road Transport, Government of India has denied toll-free travel facility for accredited journalists. In the past also, accredited journalists have asked for toll-free travel at the national highways by submitting memorandum through different mediums. The Government had assured them of providing these facilities but it has not been implemented till now. Instructions should be given for toll-free travel facility on toll points operated on national highways for journalists recognized and accredited journalist by State Governments.

In the letter to sent to Railway Minister, Shri Piyush Goyal, MP Diya Kumari said that the Indian Railways Ministry was providing concessional travel facilities to the journalists who are accredited by the State Governments and non-accredited journalists. Even though railway travel was restarted after it was stopped during the Corona pandemic, the concessional ticket travel facility being provided to journalists in the past was stopped without any notice and reason. The fourth pillar of democracy should raise its voice and should demand  relief by for  concessional ticket travel facility.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.