Press Release:


Date: 20 January 2017

Time: 5:15 pm

Venue: Jaipur BookMark, Diggi Palace, Jaipur


Vani Prakashan and Teamwork Arts Pvt Ltd present Vani Foundation Distinguished Translator Award. The award honors those translators of India who have consistently and qualitatively facilitated literary and linguistic exchange between at least two Indian languages. This award was deemed necessary in light of the lack of present initiatives to encourage direct exchange between Indian languages. It also aims at re-discovering and conceptualizing India’s rich history of linguistic and literary interchange by inspiring contemporary translators to carry this proud tradition into the present and project it into the future. The award especially favours translators who have produced a significant literary corpus over an extended period of time, and carries a monetary prize of one lakh rupees, in addition to public recognition.

The 2017 award is being presented to the well known translator, poet, writer and critic Dr Anamika.

Dr. Anamika has published 8 collections of poetry, 5 stories and various criticisms. Embedded in feminism, her creations have inspired generations of readers and budding writers in Hindi and English. According to her, every world is a translation in itself. She has translated works of many famous writers like Rabindranath Tagore, Lesmurry, Octavio Paz etc. She has translated important works like Nag Mandal (Girish Karnad), Rilke ki Par (Contemporary English Poetry), Kehti Hain Auratein (Feminist Poems from World Literature). Dr Anamika has been honoured with awards like Bharat Bhushan Award, Girja Kumar Mathur Samman, Sahityakar Samman, Parampara Samman, Kirdaar Samman etc. She is a Delhi based academic and bilingual writer with more than twenty national and international publications to her credit. A trained classical dancer, her   novels have a vast readership and her poems are translated into various languages. Her works are prescribed at curricula at JNU, University of Cochi, and University of Moscow etc. Currently she is working as a professor of English in Delhi University Satyawati College.

In 2017, this award will be presented from the august stage of Jaipur BookMark, the unique publishing industry platform created in association with the prestigious Jaipur Literature Festival. Two years ago, the Jaipur Literature Festival began an important new initiative: Jaipur BookMark (JBM). Conceptualized as a business to business segment, JBM is held parallel to JLF, in a quiet nearby venue and provides a platform for publishers, literary agents, authors, translation agencies and writers to meet, talk business deals, listen to speakers from across the world and perhaps even sign the occasional contract.

Every year the ZEE Jaipur Literature Festival makes a concerted effort to ensure that the multitude of Indian languages is showcased while its industry arm, Jaipur BookMark, focuses on the art and business of translation. This is set to continue in 2017 with over 25 languages represented in works spanning the country’s literary landscape as well as international translations in a bid to preserve and promote the diverse range of life, culture and stories from India and across the world.

Vani Prakashan has been publishing finest Hindi literature since 54 years in over 32 genres. It has published over 6,000 books in print, electronic and audio format. It has a footprint in more than 3,00,000 villages, 2,800 towns, 54 major cities and 12 major online book stores in the country. Vani Prakashan is also connected with major library systems of India, United States of America, United Kingdom and Middle East. Vani Prakashan’s list includes 32 Sahitya Akademi awarded books and authors, 9 Nobel laureates translated into Hindi and 24 other major awarded writers and books. The organisation is honored at National Library, Sweden, Indo-Russian Literary Club and Russian Center of Art Culture and by Polish Government for promoting Indo-Swedish, Russian and Polish literary exchange, respectively. Vani Prakashan has also won the prestigious Distinguished Publisher Award instituted by The Federation of Indian Publishers in 2008. On its 51st anniversary, its laid foundation for its not-for profit arm Vani Foundation.

The esteemed jury of the award comprises of Namita Gokhale, Founder and Co-Director, Jaipur Literature Festival, Neeta Gupta, Director, Jaipur Book Mark and culturalist Sundeep Bhutoria.

The award will be presented by India’s eminent journalist, writer and television personality Mrinal Pande. Pande has been the chief editor of Hindi daily Hindustan and chairperson of Prasar Bharti. She also hosted a popular weekly interview show Baaton Baaton Mein on Lok Sabha TV that highlighted the personalities and ideas related to Indian art, culture and literature. The Government of India awarded her the 4th highest civilian honour of Padma Shri in 2006.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.