Press Release

The School of Law at Manipal University Jaipur successfully conducted the 9th Manipal Ranka International Moot Court Competition 2023. The competition was won by the O P Jindal Global Law College and the runners up were the team of Lloyd Law College, Noida. This prestigious event was organised in association with the Ranka Public Charitable Trust sponsored by JRA Legal Solutions, Jaipur, Rajasthan. The primary objective of the Justice Ranka Moot Court Competition is to foster the development of moot court skills among aspiring legal scholars and practitioners. It provides a platform for law students to hone their advocacy, research, and argumentation abilities, thereby preparing them for successful careers in the legal profession.

A total of 56 teams registered for this prestigious competition, with 30 national-level teams shortlisted to participate in offline mode, and an additional 3 international teams participating in online mode, making this a truly global event. This was informed by President, Manipal University, Jaipur, Prof. (Dr.) G.K. Prabhu.

The competition was conducted in a hybrid mode along with YouTube Live Streaming, allowing participants to showcase their legal acumen and advocacy skills in both physical and virtual environments. The valedictory ceremony of the competition was held on 2 October, on the birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi, the first and foremost barrister of India, marking the successful conclusion of this event.  Chief Guests of the event were Hon’ble Justice C.S. Dias, Judge Kerala High Court and Hon’ble Justice Sudesh Bansal, Judge Rajasthan High Court. The ceremony was further embarked with the Guest of Honour, Prof. Dr. Balakista Reddy, Dean, School of Law, Mahindra University and Former Registrar, NALSAR University, Hyderabad and the Special Guest, Prof. Dr. V.K. Unni, Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta, and Prof. (Dr.) R Murlidharan, Lawyer and Patent Agent from Bengaluru.  

The 9th Manipal Ranka International Moot Court Competition, 2023, saw the collaboration of key figures, including Ms Urmila M. Ranka, Chairperson of the Ranka Public Charitable Trust, Mr. Justice J.K. Ranka, Vice-Chairman of the Ranka Public Charitable Trust, Mr. Siddharth Ranka, Secretary of the Ranka Public Charitable Trust. Prof. (Dr.) G.K. Prabhu, President, Manipal University, Jaipur. (Dr.) Jayaram E.R., Dean Faculty of Law Manipal University Jaipur, Prof. (Dr.) Vijayalaxmi, Director of Law,  Dr. Sonu Agrawal and Dr. Sony Kulshrestha, Head of the Department and Coordinators of event, Mr. Siddarth Badkul, Ms. Shalini Sharma, Ms. Nishtha Acharya were also present during the competition.

The competition was inaugurated on 30 September by the esteemed Chief Guest, Hon’ble Mr. Ajay Rastogi, a Former Judge of the Supreme Court of India. The Guest of Honour was Hon’ble Mr. Justice Mahindra Mohan Shrivastava, a Judge of the Rajasthan High Court, and Executive President of the Rajasthan State Legal Services Authority, along with Special Guest, Hon’ble Mr. M.S. Singhvi, Advocate General of Rajasthan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.